Posted on

What If The Disc Lands On Top Of The Basket?

what if disc lands on top of basket No ratings yet.

It’s a situation just about every disc golfer has run into: You line up a putt, release it clean, and it flies straight toward the chains… only to land squarely on top of the basket. Now what? Does that count as a made putt?

Let’s clear it up using the official PDGA rulebook and some practical examples so you’ll always know what counts—and what doesn’t.

Does It Count If the Disc Lands on Top?

No—it does not count. According to PDGA Rule 807.B:

“In order to complete a hole with a basket target, the thrower must release the disc and it must enter the target above the top of the tray and below the bottom of the chain support, and come to rest supported by the target.”

If the disc lands on the top of the cage, even if it seems like an amazing shot, it doesn’t meet the entry requirement. You’ll need to mark it and take another throw.

You can read the full rule here on the PDGA website.

Possible Exception: Bounce Out

There is one rare situation that confuses players: What if the disc does enter through the chains properly, then bounces out and lands on top of the basket?

Even in that case, it still doesn’t count. The disc must come to rest supported by the target. If it lands on top after bouncing out, it’s not resting in the target area as defined by the rules.

What If the Disc Gets Stuck on the Side?

This one depends on how the disc got there.

  • If it entered the basket correctly (between the chain support and the top of the tray) and then wedged itself onto the side—it counts.
  • If it simply flew in from the side or above and stuck to the outer edge—it doesn’t count.

Disc Hits the Chains but Bounces Out—Does It Count?

Unfortunately, no. Even if the disc flies through the chains or hits the pole, it must come to rest supported by the target. If it hits and falls to the ground, it’s still in play.

Disc Flies Into the Front of the Basket

Let’s say you have an old or damaged basket and somehow your disc slides in from the front and comes to rest inside. Technically it’s inside the cage… but it doesn’t count.

The way a disc enters the target matters. If it didn’t enter from above the tray and below the chain support, it’s not valid.

Disc Rests Against the Pole on the Ground

This is another tricky one. If your disc hits the chains and falls to the ground, coming to rest against the center pole, that still doesn’t count.

Yes, the pole is part of the basket. But the disc is also touching the ground, so it’s not being fully supported by the target.

How to Make the Right Judgment Call

There are two questions you should ask whenever you’re not sure if a putt counts:

  1. Did the disc enter the target through the correct zone?
    (Above the tray and below the chain support)
  2. Is the disc resting supported by the target?
    (Not the ground, not the top, not wedged on the outside)

If the answer to both is yes, you’ve made the putt. If either answer is no, it doesn’t count.

Want a Visual Explanation?

Here’s a helpful video that walks through several real-life examples: Watch on YouTube

Final Thoughts

Most of the time, you won’t run into these edge cases during casual rounds. But if you’re practicing for tournaments or just want to keep things fair, it helps to understand what counts as a completed hole.

Stick to the basics: correct entry + supported by the basket = made putt. Knowing the rule gives you confidence on the course—and could save you a stroke when it matters most.

If you’re looking to upgrade your gear for competitive rounds, check out our full selection of disc golf baskets and disc golf discs.

Review This Disc